Diaries of a Wanna be Journalist! “I wanted to travel, I also wanted to do journalism”

Sometimes, destiny and hard work just work in unison. Journalism to me is the result of one such unison!

We all dream to travel the world, we dream to someday check in our Facebook’s at the Statue of Liberty ; upload a snap with the London Eye, Take a selfie with the Burj Khalifa. I dream of this too,  I want to do this too!

But, what If I tell you, I have already fulfilled half of these dreams collaborating them with my passion?

Friends, From today I shall begin to share my story of Journalism with all of you. My first travel hunt to Los Angeles to attend a Digital Journalism conference.

Online News Association in 2015 selected me in their student newsroom of 20 student journalists. What’s so fascinating about this is that I was the only Indian to have ever made in the Student newsroom selection in the history of ONA.

image
Deccan Chronicle, Hyderabad

A sponsored trip to United States of America which included a sponsored Economy ticket to Los Angeles, A beautiful double bed room at Hyatt Regency located in Beverley Hills, and a hall full of Journalists from round the world.

From understanding Podcasts , working on live periscope, Reviewing the ONA awards in a room full of Journalists from New York Times and CNN to actually witnessing Drone Journalism, I lived my passion with my dream!

ona-3
For full information of my work at ONA, visit http://newsroom15.journalists.org/

Certain Tips  that I took away from the conference was,

“How to get your Big ideas to work in Small Newsrooms?” – Just get your well designed pitch worksheet, Connect revenue to your project, Use a project management tool, talk to co workers and get set go! 

Get your Social Media do the talking! Join Facebook’s Live Video for News.

360-video camera the new trend in Digital Journalism! 

This is not all! Would you believe if I tell you, that you can be a reporter if you have a smart phone in hand?

Well you have to, because with certain applications like Scribble, Vont, Instagram, Snapchat, FilMic Pri, Slack  you can report a full-fledged package story from your phone.

ona-2
Go Pro shoot, Photo by Amara Aguilar

This is why I loved being a part of ONA! It helped me understand the importance of trying new tools and building new skills to keep up with the technology’s growing impact on news. Besides a new learning, what it gave me was a life enriching experience of diversity where I got to meet young talented journalists from all over the world!

ona-1
Be a part of ONA 17 in Washington D.C. Apply at http://ona17.journalists.org/

So if you are a budding journalist and a Pro Digi reporter, get your hands on your smart phone right now and apply to be a part of ONA 17 student newsroom happening in Washington, DC! You don’t want to miss taking a snapshot with the White House there!

Next on blog, What If I tell you that I was paid to travel  the streets of New York and also paid to click selfies on Times Square and Brooklyn Bridge! Sharing with you my second best experience of Digital Journalism life. Stay connected to check my Tales of New York job hunting!

NEW YORK.jpg
Brooklyn Bridge in New York

Leave a Reply

